PDA

View Full Version : Self Taught VS Classes...

shaykh1985
26th December 2012, 11:49
For those here that have learnt another language did you do it through classes or being self taught?...which do you think is better?...

I have a habit of stopping and starting with languages a bit...most recently Russian...stopped cos I didn't really want to go live there nor Ukraine for the moment...decided to focus on a language which i'll get to use daily...as for Russian I did both classes and self teaching...I had a good teacher imo but other than pronounciation I don't think there is that much she could have done that I couldn't do with a self teaching book with an answer key...it doesn't help also when there are students in your class who move at different paces...at times the classes were too slow...

I had private classes for Georgian and just don't think the teacher and me clicked...Georgian teachers had a habit of giving you absolutely no time when reading before they gave a correction...but finding one with decent English was a problem so I won't generalise from that experience...

Teachers are akin to personal trainers in that their role is to motivate you and ensure you do things correctly...although you can easily learn correct technique and utilise self motivation if you have equipment at home...

I am someone who did badly at languages at school....I absolutely hated my German and Latin classes but as an adult I have realised I am not nearly as bad at languages as I initially thought...

Japanese is my latest project and hopefully I see this one through cos it seems an easy language to forget if you get sloppy...and with this I plan to go the self taught route...

Pronounication is something you can solve if you have a keen ear imo...if you watch enough movies or your immersed in a culture then you'll pick up an accent...