PDA

View Full Version : Huge salaries in Silicon valley!

LegendInzi
30th August 2017, 13:28
So, I completed my Masters from a top university here in Germany and got job at one of the big name companies here. I thought I was getting paid very well.

Until I learnt about my friends who completed their Masters from US and their starting salaries are around ~130k USD. Now that is almost twice as much I make. Most of them are living in cities such as San Jose, San Francisco, San Diego etc and working for companies like Nvidia, Qualcomm, Intel and such.

Now, I know that money is not everything and costs of living can vary a lot. But surely one can look to save up a lot and live 'upper-class' lifestyle even in America.

Are any PP'ers working in Silicon valley? How would you rate your quality of life there and satisfaction with your earnings? I think Nostalgic mentioned he works in tech in US, it would be great if you could share how's it been living so many years there at such pay scale.

bones
30th August 2017, 13:35
First think I looked for is property costs in that region of the US and on average it's higher than any other area of USA, including the capital and NY.

So as much as they earn, a lot of it is probably going straight to rent/mortgages.

bones
30th August 2017, 13:37
Business insider has an article, do a search on the net, but they're saying $120k isn't actually all that. It's average and will give you an average lifestyle.

maxamax
30th August 2017, 14:15
I've studied couple of researches that were made to build dual-core CPUs/GPUs, they deserved it.

zimmz
30th August 2017, 14:39
As mentioned above by others living, traveling, health costs and family benefits, taxes are key factors when comparing salaries. Germany is not cheap and has high taxes but may offer better health and family benefits, job security, more off days etc. Geographic location is also important for someone who travel every year to home country (Pakistan).