Debut
    Oct 2004
    Runs
    Mentioned
    2633 Post(s)
    Tagged
    21 Thread(s)

Talent Spotter : Sameen Gul

A profile of Sameen Gul who is a young and fast-improving pace bowler from Jamrud in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Full name Sameen Gul

Born February 4, 1999, Jamrud, Khyber Agency, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Major teams Pakistan Under-19s, UBL, FATA and KPK

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm medium-fast

Height 6ft 3in

Interest in cricket

I started playing tape-ball cricket in the streets around my home in Jamrud so the story of my love for cricket is like many others in that sense. There was a lot of opposition to cricket not just by my parents but also from elders in the area where I lived as this was considered a fruitless pursuit and concentrating on education was advised as a better option for me. Whilst my love for the game made me overcome this resistance as I would sneak out of home for practice without telling anyone, I still managed to complete education to a matriculation level.

Role model

The South African bowler Dale Steyn has always been my favourite and I have always wanted to bowl like him. Closer to home, I have always liked Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis as they are Pakistan’s best ever fast bowlers. If you ask me who impresses me most in today’s team then it has to be Mohammad Amir.

Starting proper cricket at the Jamrud-Khyber academy and the Khyber Green Cricket Club