Karachi
    Runs
    Mentioned
    2400 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)

"Someday, I am looking at a triple century" : Babar Azam

Babar Azam speaking after the first Test against SL:

"Early on, I struggled a bit because the ball was coming slowly. Abid spoke to me and said to wait a bit and play the ball. I was trying to play to my strengths. They had packed one side so I played a lot to the offside"

"My ODI form was going well so I tried to transition that to Tests. I had to have belief in myself as I wasn't performing in Tests as in ODIs/T20Is. I changed my mindset a bit"

"I was worried that the sun might go down quickly so I tried to make runs quickly towards the end"

"I have worked hard on my fitness, I have worked on my skills as well. I do extra practice besides my usual practice for power hitting. Once I got confidence, I started playing the same way in matches. In the match, you go along with what you need in the situation, where you need to hit and where you need to go slow"

"Abid bhai played an outstanding innings. We call him legend in the dressing room, that's his name. He showed his experience in this match, he focused well during his innings. He told me to have belief in myself"

"It was very enjoyable to play in front of a home crowd. When your own people support you and the stadium is full and they take your name, that gives you confidence and cheers you up. Everyone knew it would be a drawn match but the crowd came and it was a houseful, it's enjoyable to play when people are cheering for you"

"When you go to a country like Australia and score against their strong bowling attack, it gives you an idea about how to bat. How you need to assess conditions, analyse bowlers and plan the innings. The more you stay in the ground, the more confidence you get"

"My goals like in ODIs and T20Is are to keep improving and do whatever I can for the team and do well individually also"